Kuala Lumpur-where all the trains meet and have a party

Finally, a place I could move to.

I don’t know what it is about Kuala Lumpur. The truth is, I did it on the cheap, and not on purpose, I just for some reason didn’t go to fancy restaurants or night clubs. In a Muslim country, trying to drink around is not a good idea: the rarity will cost you.

Malaysia is the perfect example of what colonization will do to a country. With 60% of the population being Malay, about 30% Chinese, and the rest Tamil Indian… The mix makes for delicious food, the population the color of what I see the future being: a mix of Chinese and Indian. I remember a South Park episode in which people from the future came back in time, and this is how they looked like: Caramel brown skin, semi-slanted eyes, and speaking English perfectly in spite of knowing another language since birth. Malaysia is the future my friends.

In Thailand I gave in and bought a mega used version of the Lonely Planet: South East Asia on a shoestring, and have been carrying it around. It said a pretty great quote:

KL’ metamorphosis from a jungle hovel of tin prospectors to a gleaming 21st century city of high-rises and highways seems like a triumph of man over nature. However, peer down on KL from the bird’s-eye height of Menara KL and it’s clear that nature continues to fight back: this remains one of the greenest cities in SEA and is all the better for it.

Like in India, I blended in like a native, except of course for my supernatural height. I chose to Couch Surf after a while of not doing it, and I’m so very glad I did! By using local transportation, eating in neighborhood joints and barely stepping foot on the tourist area I was able to get a taste of what it would be like to live in this city of juxtapositions.

And it is true. I first stayed with a Mexican girl who has been having a great time living in KL for the past seven months. Then I stayed with Martin, a Czech IT guy who’s being living there for two years. I surfed at the same time with two wonderful German girls. I have met many, many people (specially Europeans) during this trip of mine, but these three are the first I believe I formed a genuine friendship with.

Highlights: the National Mosque, the park, the Petronas Towers, (seeing them at sunset was cooler than going up the towers) China town and Little India.

And the people. There is no doubt that Malaysians are the nicest ones I’ve encountered so far.

20120429-210610.jpg

20120429-210617.jpg

 

20120429-210646.jpg

20120429-210653.jpg

